Real Madrid are La Liga champions


Real Madrid have won their 33rd La Liga title, and their first since the 2011-12 season, after recording a 2-0 win over Malaga in Sunday night’s decisive fixture at La Rosaleda.

Los Blancos knew that a point would be enough to take the title away from Barcelona, but a defeat would open the door for the Catalan giants to retain the title at the final moment.

Meanwhile, Barcelona spectacularly came from two goals behind to beat Eibar 4-2 on home soil, Real Madrid’s two-goal victory ultimately saw them finish three points clear at the top of La Liga.

It took Real Madrid less than two minutes to make the breakthrough with Ronaldo racing onto an excellent through pass from Isco before rounding Carlos Kameni and finding the back of the net.